Health Care Reform Resource Center
33 Davis Brown Attorneys Selected for The Best Lawyers in America 2014
Davis Brown Attorneys Named Among Best in the U.S.
Immigration Client Resource Center
Voted Des Moines' Best Law Firm

In the News

Sharon K. Malheiro to Receive Gertrude Rush Award - May 3, 2013

Davis Brown shareholder Sharon K. Malheiro was recently selected by the Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys (I.O.W.A.) and the Iowa National Bar Association as this year’s recipient of the 11th Annual Gertrude Rush award.

The award recognizes a lawyer who manifests the pioneering spirit of Gertrude E. Rush, the first African-American woman to be admitted to the practice of law in Iowa in 1918. In addition, award honorees demonstrate leadership in the community and in the legal profession, as well as concern for human and civil rights. Former recipients of the award include Barbara Schwartz, Bonnie Campbell, Chinyere Ukabiala, Willie Glanton, Diann Wilder-Tomlinson, Inga Bumbary-Langston, Adrien Wing, Judge Artis Reis, Romonda Belcher and Roxanne Conlin. This year’s award will be presented at I.O.W.A.’s 28th Annual Dinner, which will be held on Thursday, June 20, 2013 at the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, 1800 50th St.

Sharon, a dedicated advocate for civil rights, particularly relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered community, has been practicing law for more than 24 years. In 1991, she was appointed by the Iowa Supreme Court to serve as a member of the Task Force on Gender and Racial Bias in the Judicial System. After the completion of the Task Force's report, she was asked to serve as a member of the Iowa Supreme Court's Monitoring Committee, which was charged with ensuring that the recommendations made by the Task Force were implemented. Sharon also provides pro bono legal counsel for the Aids Project of Central Iowa and is a cooperating attorney for Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund.

Read more in the Des Moines Business Record