Attorneys Leading the Way

Davis Brown Attorneys Honored for Pro Bono Work - October 23, 2020

Ten Davis Brown attorneys were recently honored by the Iowa State Bar Association for their work representing clients who would otherwise be unable to afford the assistance of an attorney. This is often referred to as pro bono.


Davis Brown Attorneys Listed on the ISBA Honor Roll

Daniela Erickson

Kacy Flaherty-Tarpey

Ryan Haaland

Becky Knutson

Matthew Laughlin

John Pietila

Courtney Strutt Todd

Deborah Tharnish

Margaret Van Houten

Breanna Young

Additional Honors

Courtney Strutt Todd was recognized for completing over 50 hours of pro bono work this year. 

Margaret Van Houten was recognized for her service to the Polk County Bar Association Volunteer Lawyers Project Board of Directors.


Deborah Tharnish and John Pietila were recognized for their work on the Iowa Legal Aid Foundation Board of Directors.


Daniela Erickson and Breanna Young were both recognized for their contributions to the newly created COVID-19 legal advice hotline.


With the assistance of Davis Brown attorneys and their peers from around the state, the promise of equal access to justice turns into a reality for Iowans who are otherwise not be able to afford a lawyer.